< Back to the Blog

28 March 08

Adwords account details phishing scam warning

by

We’ve had a couple of these passed on to us this week, and we think that this is significantly worrying enough to issue a warning to our clients who use AdWords.

There is currently a scam email circulating, from adwords-noreply@google.com sent from people claiming to be "The Google Adwords Team". The email requests billing information and user details be entered into the page shown. The link then directs the user to a spoof duplicate of the AdWords login screen.

The URL shows the standard Adwords link text, but sends the unsuspecting user to (parts of the url are masked for safety) http://adwrods.google.select.*******.cn/index.html (Note the misspelling of "adwords" and the .select.cn domain.)

We would like to reassure our clients that any billing issues are automatically flagged up in the AdWords interface and as such, we will pass these on.

< Back to listing

About the author - James Fairweather

James Fairweather

James fronts online marketing consultancy and frequently develops fully integrated marketing strategies that maximise ROI for clients. With skills covering a wide range of digital disciplines James also provides training, external lectures and has also authored a number of publications that show how it is possible to extract the largest potential from the search landscape.

Read more posts by James Fairweather >